Benue 2023: Waya emerges APGA flagbearer

A veteran journalist, Mr Joseph Waya, on Sunday won the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) primaries for the 2023 governorship election in Benue.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Waya polled 241 votes to defeat Prof. Denen Akaa, a surgeon, who got 33 votes.

Announcing the results on Sunday at the APGA secretariat Makurdi, the venue of the primaries, the Returning Officer for the exercise, Mr Abubakar Adamu, declared Waya winner, having polled the highest number of votes at the exercise.

Adamu, who described the exercise as “free and fair”, charged both winner and loser to close ranks to ensure the victory of the party at the 2023 polls in the state.

In his acceptance speech, Waya thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and assured them that with their continued support, APGA would clinch the 2023 governorship seat in the state.

He said his development plan for the state would aim at transforming all the sectors of the Benue economy.

He said he was not intimidated by the other parties in the state.

Waya said that he was hopeful of winning the state for his party in the 2023 general election

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.