Imo: Onyereri, Onyeagocha, Okewulonu win PDP Senate tickets

Ahead of the 2023 general elections, the immediate past Secretary to the Imo State Government, Hon. Uche Onyeagocha and the former member representing Nkwerre, Isu, Njaba, Nwangele, Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Hon. Jones Onyereri have won the senatorial tickets of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in their respective zones.

Onyeagocha, who is also a former member of the House of Representatives, defeated Onyewuchi Francis Ezenwa, an incumbent Senator representing Imo East Senatorial District in the 9th Assembly.

He polled 134 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ezenwa Onyewuchi who scored 110 votes.

Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu also emerged winner of the PDP primary for Imo North Senatorial election winning Ifeanyi Ararume Jnr, with 132 votes.

Similarly, the Reps member representing Nkwerre/Isu/Njaba/Nwangele Federal Constituency, Hon Ugonna Ozuruigbo won his closest rival, Hon Kingsley Echendu with 111 votes.

Hon. Kingsley Uju won the PDP primaries to represent Ohaji/Egbema/ Oguta Federal Constituency.

Recall that Hon Ugonna Ozuruigbo and Hon. Kingsley Uju were both incumbent Reps members who defected to the opposition PDP from the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC.

However, the Mbaitoli Ikeduru Federal Constituency ticket for the PDP was won by Dr. Osmond Ukanacho who won with 66 votes.

DAILY POST had earlier reported that the incumbent, Rt. Hon. Henry Nwawuba withdrew from the primaries and is rumoured to be on his way out of the party

Ikenna Elezianya, who is the incumbent, was returned as the flag-bearer for the Owerri Federal Constituency, seat while his counterpart in Aboh Mbaise/Ngor Okpala, Bede Eke, lost to Albert Agulanna who polled 31 votes against his 22.

Emeka Chinedu of Ahiazu Mbaise/Ezinihitte Mbaise Federal Constituency was returned unopposed.

Hon Anyadike of Ezinihitte Mbaise and Okey Onyekamma were handed back their tickets to run for another term, while Rex Okoro won the Ahiazu Mbaise State Assembly ticket.

Others who were declared winners of the party’s State Assembly primary election were: Hon.Frank Ugboma, Oguta LGA , Hon. Modestus Osakwe, Isu LGA , Hon. Chukwuemeka Benjamin, Ohaji/Egbema LGA, Chris Ogbu, Ideato South LGA. Ideato North LGA was declared inconclusive due to over voting.

Others include: Nkwerre LGA , Alex Ohiri, Oru-west LGA, Onumajuru Onyekachi, Oru East LGA, Greg Okemili, Njaba LGA, Chidi Agbasi, Nwangele LGA,Solomon Ucheka, Orsu LGA, Nwadikwa Ifeanyi, Orlu LGA, Okolie Pascal.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.