Major upsets trail Senate, House of Reps PDP primaries

By Dayo Johnson, Henry Umoru, Samuel Oyadongha, Marie-Therese Nanlong, Chioma Onuegbu, Emem Idio, Femi Bolaji  & Shina Abubakar

THERE were major upsets during the Senate and House or Representatives primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, held across the country, yesterday.

Akinyelure, Tofowomo lose in Ondo

In Ondo State, two serving senators in Ondo lost their re-election bid.

Senators Patrick Akinyelure and Nicholas Tofowomo, who represent Ondo Central and South Senatorial Districts respectively lost at the party primary, held in Akure.

While Senator Akinyelure lost to Mr Ife Adedipe, SAN, Senator Tofowomo was defeated by a former deputy governor of the state, Mr Agboola Ajayi.

In the Northern Senatorial area, Adetokunbo Modupe defeated Foluso Adefemi to emerge the party’s candidate.

Speaking with Vanguard, Adedipe, who said this was the first time he would be contesting for elective office, said: “It is the PDP that has won and not Ifedayo. It is the party that conducts a free and fair election. My fellow aspirant should see this as a vote for all of us.  We will require all hands on deck. This primary is based on existing law. What the law is, what they have followed.”

But reacting to his defeat, Senator Akinyelure said: “As a ranking Senator and with all I have done for them in Ondo Central Senatorial District, the three ad-hoc delegates that favoured Olusegun Mimiko, were instructed to vote me out. I am happy for this but I know my God will never fail.

“The election was so transparent but I know that with the volume of what I have done for Ondo Central Senatorial District, I did not expect to be paid this way. But I have a destiny that nobody can stop.”

Serving Reps member loses as winners emerge in Bayelsa

Another upset was recorded in Bayelsa State as the lawmaker representing Ogbia Federal Constituency, Mr Fred Obua, yesterday, lost his bid to return to the National Assembly for a second tenure as he lost the primaries to the chairman of Ogbia Local Government Area, Ebiyon Marvin Turner.

Turner also defeated the incumbent member representing Ogbia Constituency 1, in the State House of Assembly, Chief Metema Obordor and the immediate past Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Daniel Iworiso-Markson.

Elsewhere in Southern Ijaw Federal Constituency, Mr Rodney Ambaiowei was declared winner, while the ticket for Yenagoa/Kolokuma/Opokuma Federal Constituency was clinched by Mr Oboku Oforji, the incumbent lawmaker representing Yenagoa constituency I. Prof Steve Azaiki, the incumbent PDP member representing the Federal Constituency did not contest the primary as he chose to serve a single term.

Ishaku, deputy clinch PDP Senate tickets

Taraba State Governor, Darius Ishaku, emerged the PDP senatorial flag bearer for Taraba South.

His Deputy, Haruna Manu, also won the ticket for Taraba Central Senate seat in the 2023 general elections.

Ishaku, who was unopposed polled a total of 154 votes to clinch the ticket.

For Taraba central, Manu defeated Muhhamad Abana with 143 votes

The Senate Deputy Minority Leader, Shuaibu Isa Lau also polled 92 votes to emerge the flag bearer of PDP for Taraba North.

His closest contender and former Commissioner for Agriculture, David Kassa polled 73 votes.

Bassey, Enoidem, Sampson win in A-Ibom

In Akwa Ibom State, Speaker of the House of Assembly, Mr Aniekan Bassey; a former National Legal Adviser of the PDP, Mr Emmanuel Enoidem and former Commissioner for Environment and Petroleum Resources, Mr Ekong Sampson emerged as senatorial candidates of the party in the state.

Bassey emerged winner for Akwa Ibom North-East (Uyo) Senatorial district, Enoidem for Akwa Ibom NorthWest (Ikot Ekpene) Senatorial district and Sampson for Akwa Ibom South (Eket) Senatorial district.

For Uyo Senatorial district held at Ibom Hall ground, Bassey polled 272 votes, Enoidem  got 329 votes for Ikot Ekpene Senatorial primary, while at Special Protection Unit of Nigeria Police Force Base 27, Awa Iman in Onna LGA, Sampson scored 368 votes to emerge winner for Eket Senatorial primary.

There was heavy security presence at all the three designated centres where the primaries held across the state.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.